Learning and Living Committee

Learning and Living is a business-education partnerships in Princeton dedicated to building strong bonds between our local schools and business communities.

Our goals include educating students about the spectrum of employment opportunities that are available to them, building in them the skills needed to be successful in the world of work, and opening doors between local schools and businesses in order to better inform each about the other.



How we partner

Relationships are the key

Our mission is to create and nurture active partnerships within our community in order to develop and foster effective two-way communication between businesses and schools, and assure relevance in learning.

We believe that education works best when learners are able to apply what they learn in school to life and work situations.

Learning & Living Committee Members

Gwen Anderson
Community Ed Director, ISD# 477
gwen.anderson@isd477.org

Tracy Bailey
Colonial Life
tracy.coloniallife@gmail.com

Bobbi Benner
MS Counselor, ISD #477
bobbi.benner@isd477.org

Barb Muckenhirn
PHS Principal, ISD #477
barb.muckenhirn@isd477.org

Emorie Colby
PHS Assistant Principal, ISD #477
emorie.colby@isd477.org

Erin Dohrmann
Director of Student Services, ISD #477
erin.dohrmann@isd477.org

Sarah Durch
Dean, ISD #477
sarah.durch@isd477.org

Ben Barton
Superintendent, ISD#477
ben.barton@isd477.org

Dan Patnode
Glenn Metalcraft
dpatnode@glennmetalcraft.com

Lisa Fobbe
County Commissioner
lisa.fobbe@co.sherburne.mn.us


Chelsey Heinen
Human Resources Generalist, Crystal Cabinet Works
ChelseyH@ccworks.com

DeNice Janssen
Parent, Community Volunteer
wdsmtjanssen@yahoo.com

Richard Kielty
ALC Teacher, ISD #477
richard.kielty@isd477.org

Jessica Lupkes
PHS Agriculture Teacher, ISD #477
jessica.lupkes@isd477.org

Pam McElhone
Director of Human Resources, Phillips Distilling
pkmcelhone@phillipsdistilling.com

Nick Nowak
President, Steinbrecher Painting
nick@steinbrecherpainting.com

Lee Steinbrecher
Steinbrecher Painting (Retired)
lcsteinbrecher@yahoo.com

Jessica Town-Gunderson
Director of Teaching and Learning, ISD #477
jessica.town-gunderson@isd477.org

Kim Young
Executive Director, Princeton Chamber of Commerce
kim.young@princetonmnchamber.org

Stephanie Hillesheim
Community Development Specialist, City of Princeton
shillesheim@princetonmn.org

Della Ludwig
Workforce Strategy Consultant at DEED
della.ludwig@state.mn.us

Becoming a Member

Being a Learning and Living member is all about supporting the school district and the students in our community. Our goals are centered around building a skilled and competent workforce.

Our goal and our role as business members is building the workforce rather than advancing our personal businesses. We serve as a bridge to the community for career experiences. Our activities are centered on building career skills in students and building an awareness in educators of the skills needed to be successful in the workplace.

Member Expectations

  • To contribute with students best interests in mind
  • To have a passion for supporting students
  • To attend and participate in committee activities
  • To listen in the community and report back on student readiness and literacies

If you are interested in joining our committee please fill out our very short application. We meet monthly on the 1st Wednesday of each month in the District Center from 7:30am to 8:45am. Please consider sharing your expertise and giving input on building a skilled workforce. Applications are reviewed monthly.

“Businesses Supporting Schools Supporting Businesses”

Learning and Living Member Application

Businesses Supporting Schools -- Schools Supporting Businesses