Policy 299 - School Board Member Compensation and Expenses


Minnesota statutes permit persons who serve on public school boards to receive compensation and reimbursement for expenses incurred while performing school board responsibilities. It is the policy of this district to compensate board members in the amount of $450.00 per month. The individual board member serving as chairperson will receive an additional $100 per month. Board members will receive $50 per official standing board committee & appointment meetings. MSBA training will be allowed at $50.00 rate per day as well. The School Board Chairperson has authority to appoint members to standing committees. In addition the School Board Chairperson can designate payments for attendance in district meetings that are not standing committees. School board members who attend meetings outside the district will receive reimbursements for expenses outlined in school district policy 412.

A board member can make a recommendation regarding compensation at the organizational meeting. The recommendation will then be considered at both finance and policy committees before formal action is taken.

Official Princeton School Board Committees:

  • Activities
  • Certified Negotiations
  • Classified Negotiations
  • Finance
  • Policy
  • Project Oversight Committee
  • Teaching and Learning
  • Transportation
  • Official Princeton School Board Appointments:
    • Community Education/Early Childhood Family Education
    • MN State High School League
    • Rum River Special Education Cooperative
    • Schools for Equity in Education (SEE)
    • Wellness

Adopted: July 2, 1987
Revised: January 12, 1993
Reaffirmed: January 4, 1994
Reaffirmed: January 3, 1995
Reaffirmed: January 9, 1996
Revised: January 14, 1997
Reaffirmed: January 13, 1998
Reaffirmed: January 12, 1999
Reaffirmed: January 11, 2000
Revised: January 26, 2007
Revised: February 14, 2007
Reaffirmed: May 14, 2013
Revised: November 18, 2014
Reaffirmed: January 5, 2016
Revised: February 7, 2017
Reaffirmed: March 5, 2019
Reaffirmed: January 7, 2020.